art & fear

I shared the following excerpt on perfection with some of my advanced students. I asked them to highlight the most important ideas within the three short pages and we would discuss their thoughts the next day. One of the first comments was from an eager young woman who struggles with idea development. She said,
I really liked reading this because I have never thought about not trying to be perfect“.

Bayles, David and Ted Orlando. Art & Fear: Observations On The Perils (and Rewards) of Artmaking. Santa Barbara: Capra, 1997. 29-31. Print.

12 thoughts on “art & fear

    • I’m so glad you found the pages helpful. I hope you enjoy the book; I know I have and it changed my thinking a bit. The book helps to chase away some of those fears!

  1. I’ve suggested that The Bardo Group (a blogazine to which I contribute) reblog this article, and I’ve been asked to write an introduction. Any tidbits you’d like me to include?

    • Oh wow. Thanks! Hope I’m not too late…
      I shared the excerpt with my students because they are so anxious and fearful when trying to solve a problem. I didn’t consider how many adults would be able to relate to the same words. We still share a lot of the same struggles (and successes) no matter what our age.

Comments are welcome and appreciated.

