weekly photo challenge: fresh

supergirl

supergirl in Astoria, Oregon

strong girl

a strong girl with Martin Luther King, Jr. in Washington D.C.

What is fresh, and new and a welcome change is frequently seeing children in the U.S. without the burdens of previous generations. My students are friends with kids from all over the world regardless if they have different religious beliefs, socioeconomic status or varying skin colors. My students openly discuss their own adoptions with classmates. I am starting to see same-gender couples hold hands in the hallway and using the word “gay” in a negative context will elicit a chorus of disapproval from classmates before I can respond. Negative use of the word “retarded” gets the same reaction. There are girlie-girls, boyish-boys, girlie-boys and boyish-girls in my classes and No One Cares. I am optimistic that my niece will experience more positive, accepting, changes than I can imagine in her lifetime. She may very well have a full opportunity to truly be herself.
Thank you to all the brave fighters for equality who have brought these changes…we are starting to see results of so much hard work.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/19/weekly-photo-challenge-fresh/

12 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge: fresh

  1. My twenty-something kids and their contemporaries are a parade of happily multi-everything people. I see this more and more in the two museums where I work, too. Families are diverse microcosms of our larger communities.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fresh (Lambs and Sheep) | What's (in) the picture?

  3. Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fresh | Missionary IOU 差情尋

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fresh mojito… in Daegu? | Private Mixture

  6. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge: Fresh | The (Urban-Wildlife) Interface

  7. It’s true, for all the problems like political situations and environmental destruction, there have been enormous strides socially in people’s understanding of one another. When I think about 20 years ago…30 years ago…40 years ago…you are in the perfect place to report on this, and thanks for doing it!

Comments are welcome and appreciated.

