weekly photo challenge: in the background

When I first visited here 15 years ago, I had driven all day with a folded map by my side and a new suit in the back seat of my car. I found a hotel not too far from the location of my interview so I would have an uncomplicated drive the next morning. I had a general idea where I was but being a disoriented stranger, new to town, I was unsure of which direction I was facing.

After dinner, which I ate alone in my hotel room, I took a walk to the river— trying to relax and wondering if I would like living in this area. Alone. Away from family and friends.

I walked to this pier, looked across the water and saw the U.S. Capitol. On that unusually warm spring evening, sitting alone at the end of a dock, I knew I had found my home.

home

9 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge: in the background

Comments are welcome and appreciated.

