weekly photo challenge: home

I grew up here by playing in the woods, walking along creek edges, cooking over camp fires, pitching tents, swimming in lakes and hiking mountain trails. I camped here with family, then friends, then first loves. I went to university here and escaped to the parkway in times of celebration and as a way to clear my mind and find peace when life became too much. I returned here after moving far away to attend a beloved craft school. I have always felt comfortable here, I can always be my true self here. I miss this place and wish to be here more often than I will ever be able to return.ย I was not born here, nor do I live here, but the mountains of North Carolina will always be my home.

nc mountains3 nc mountains2nc mountains

35 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge: home

  1. Pingback: weekly photo challenge: home « my sweetpainteddreams

  2. Portrays a wide sense of horizon, and deep rooted centering…. wonderful, i have taken time out to have virtual seat on the chair with the lower back …. it looks as though it would be a comfortable ‘moment of quiet’ chair. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Home | Mike Hardisty Photography

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Home | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Home | Alastair's Blog

  6. I have some idea of what you mean – my parents moved to Brevard years ago, and my mother especially came to love the mountains there. I tried it for two years, it didn’t work for me, but I do understand how special a place it is. And those chairs! That precise design of the slats on the seat – essence of the Appalachians.

    • Brevard is a nice place.
      I agree, the area isn’t for everyone and I never appreciated it enough when I was younger…there wasn’t enough ‘going on’. Now I would love to be in a place with less going on. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Home. | the unbearable lightness of being me.

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Home | Fine Things

  9. I love the concept of home not being anyplace you’ve ever lived, but a place that centers you. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    • The watercolor house you posted caught my eye—and reminded me of the paintings my grandma created of her homes…one of them being in Dayton, OH. You have lived all over and it looks like I am near a few of your former residences. I really enjoyed your response to the challenge…thanks for checking out my post too.

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Home | Missionary IOU ๅทฎๆƒ…ๅฐ‹

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Home | Being Rufina

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Home | Life's Scrapbook

  13. Pingback: Home | f i n e fotos

Comments are welcome and appreciated.

