gradual clearing & praise of turmeric

blue sky The last 10 days have been under-the-weather days. Body-achy, sinus-pressure-y, exhausted days. Not bad enough to stay home but bad enough to exude sympathy from teenagers. The worst part of it all has been the sleepless nights and consumption of more cough drops than food from the endless coughing. Remedies started out natural enough but I quickly moved on to over the counter medications and even an anti-cough prescription  The nights remained sleepless and the prescription actually made the cough worse. In a fit of late-night desperation I did what I should have done many days ago:
I googled it.
Among the ginger-honey and dark chocolate solutions was one I had not tried:
turmeric in warm milk.
Within moments I pulled my warm milk from the microwave, dumped the heaping spoonful of turmeric powder in the glass and stirred. Metaphorical fingers crossed (too tired to actually cross them) I slowly sipped until the glass was empty and hoped for the best. Thinking positive thoughts I quietly returned to bed, crawled under the warm sheets and for the first time in weeks, slept for eight hours.

10 thoughts on “gradual clearing & praise of turmeric

    • I’m feeling much better now, thanks. I knew turmeric is an antiseptic and some take it instead of aspirin or ibuprofen (as an anti-inflammatory) but I had no idea it had so many beneficial uses.

Comments are welcome and appreciated.

