weekly photo challenge: foreign

Some of the most foreign things I experience are in my own country.


I had not experienced pasties the first three decades of my life. These are found near the UP (upper peninsula) in Michigan. Pronounced incorrectly, they sound very risqué but it is a blander cousin of the empanada.


This was taken in my old neighborhood. I haven’t been in a church for a while and I have never felt I belonged there. The all-encompassing love, acceptance and lack of judgement that Jesus spoke of does not seem to be evident in many of these buildings.

One thought on “weekly photo challenge: foreign

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry | Alastair's Blog

Comments are welcome and appreciated.

